The History of Senoia
Coweta County (pronounced “Cow-eeta” or “Ky-eeta” and meaning “water falls”) was formed in Georgia on June 9, 1825 as Chief William McIntosh signed the Treaty of Indian Springs, for which he was soon killed by his fellow Creek Indians. There are several variations of the origin of the name Senoia. The most well-known is Senoia was named for Princess Senoyah, the mother of Chief McIntosh.
Settlers migrated to the area following the Fifth Land Lottery of 1827. Gerard M. Veal, a minor, received land lot 279, of the 202.5 acres that became present day Senoia. Around 1826, a large number of people traveled from Newberry, South Carolina in covered wagons, oxcarts, on horseback and by foot. They scattered across the countryside raising cotton, corn and livestock; the area was an agricultural Utopia.
The founding date for Senoia is 1860, in which the Rev. Francis Warren Baggarly bought land on which the town of Senoia now sits. The first building, to be erected was known as the Rock House. Intended for mercantile purposes, it soon became a commissary for the Confederacy, as the war broke out soon after its completion.
After the war, Senoia saw the completion of the Savannah, Griffin and North Alabama Railroad, which crossed through the town. Agricultural products such as cotton and peaches were shipped by rail from Senoia. Today with its collection of architectural treasures most of the town comprises a historic district on the National Register of Historic Places. The city still features many styles of architecture – including structures dating back to the 1840’s, with most of them being built at the turn of the last century. Senoia was officially incorporated as a city on December 12, 1866.